Season of the Soup

So, here we are. Winter and Christmas is upon us again. Time is just flying by. I’ve been busy as always. There’s not much to do when you work the over night shift. I only get to cook once a week on my second day off. I can cook anytime, but it makes me feel bad. Sheridan summed it up the best when he finally told me he feels like he is always reheating, and I get that.

I decided to put a hold on launching my Youtube channel. When I was researching ‘how to’ videos, they all seemed to say one thing in common. Flagging. If you don’t know what this is I will explain. In a nutshell, flagging is reporting your video to the Youtube police. Once it’s flagged it becomes unviewable to the public. Then comes a review by the Youtube admin team; which usually ends with the video being taken down completely. When that happens, you can TRY to get it put back up. Key word there is try. I just can’t move forward knowing at any moment that some person who doesn’t like or has a similar video to me could click one button and POOF! Gone. I’m looking for a better way to do this. It will happen, just not as soon as I hoped.

Our weather here in Atlanta has been crazy. A few weeks ago I was in shorts and flip flops. Today it’s a scarf, beanie, and heavy coat type of day. The days have been in the 40’s and the nights in the 20’s or 30’s. Brrrrrrr!!!!! The only good thing about it is it’s perfect soup weather. I LOVE soup. Love it. This is my second soup of the soup season. The first was a Tuscan Kale and Turkey Soup with Orzo and Parmesan that I made to use up the left over turkey from Thanksgiving. No, I didn’t think to write down the recipe. I just threw it together. I wouldn’t make that mistake again.

This soup is fast and easy to make. Perfect for busy days at the office, or thawing out once you come in from the cold. You could absolutely entertain with it. Who doesn’t love a good soup bar! Simply place the prepared soup in a crock pot to keep it warm, and surround it with bowls filled with toppings.

Taco Soup

2 lbs. ground beef

1 large white or Spanish onion, diced

1 large green bell pepper, seeded and diced

2 cloves garlic, finely minced

2 (1.25 oz.) packages taco seasoning

1 Qt. beef stock

1 (15 oz.) can pinto beans

1 (15 oz.) can black beans

1 (15 oz. ) can red kidney beans

1 (28 oz.) can diced tomatoes

1 (14.5 oz.) can diced fire roasted tomatoes

1 (4 oz.) can green chiles

1 (15.25 oz.) can yellow corn, drained

In a large dutch oven or soup pot brown the ground beef over medium high heat; drain and set aside. In the same pot, add the onions and green bell pepper. Cook and stir until slightly tender. Add garlic and cook 1 minute. Sprinkle the taco seasoning over the vegetables; stir to combine. Add the remaining ingredients reserving the stock for last. Stir well. Bring to a boil, reduce to a simmer. Simmer the soup for 20 minutes for the flavors to combine; stir often. Serve hot with your choice of toppings.

unnamed

 

 

2 thoughts on “Season of the Soup

Leave a Reply

