From the Vault: Osso Bucco

Hey, Y’all. Happy Tuesday. I’m a mere eight more work hours away from my weekend. I’m so ready for it. I have already nailed down dinner #1. I will be sharing that recipe as soon I prepare it. The meal, not the recipe. I wrote the recipe awhile ago.

Today, I thought I would dip back into the vault to see what I could find. I wrote this recipe for osso bucco back in February. I meant to post this back then. I really wanted to make it with veal though. As I have said before, my grocery stores have stopped carrying veal and many other meats. Beef shanks to the rescue. Think of this recipe as a faux osso bucco.

Osso Bucco 

2 qt. beef stock

1 c. Cabernet, or your favorite red wine

5 beef shanks

5 c. diced yellow onion

2 1/2 c. diced carrots

2 1/2 c. diced celery

tomato paste

5 bay leaves

5 sprigs rosemary

6 sprigs thyme

5 cloves garlic, peeled and left whole

1 c. vegetable oil

salt and white pepper, to taste

Preheat oven to 325. Heat the vegetable oil in a Dutch oven. Pat the shanks dry with paper towels. Tightly tie the shanks with kitchen twine; season both sides with salt and pepper. When oil is hot, brown the shanks on both sides. Transfer the browned shanks to a roasting pan. Remove from heat. Discard the oil reserving 1 1/2 to 2 tablespoons of oil in the pan.  Surround the shanks with the diced vegetables, garlic, thyme, bay leaves, and rosemary. Pour wine and enough stock to almost cover the meat. For my pan, which was a large turkey roaster, I used 2 quarts of stock. Cover with foil, and braise for 2 hours.  Heat the Dutch oven over medium high heat. Add the tomato paste and allow to toast while stirring for 2 minutes Transfer the shanks to a plate. Tent the plate with the foil to keep warm. Remove the herbs and bay leaves from the vegetables. Carefully pour a little of the braising liquid in to the pan. Stir well, making sure to scrape up any bits stuck to the bottom of the pan.  Add the rest of the braising liquid and the vegetables. Stir to combine, and turn off the heat. Using a hand blender, puree until smooth. Taste and adjust seasonings. If the sauce is a little thin, thicken it with a slurry of equal parts of water and corn starch. To serve, pass the shanks through the sauce and plate as desired. Spoon extra sauce over the shank, and serve.

unnamed (1)

 

 

2 thoughts on “From the Vault: Osso Bucco

Leave a Reply

