Herb’s Chicken Casserole

Here we are again. I hope everyone is doing well. I’m coming off a rough three weeks at work. Another manager was on vacation, so I had to cover some extra shifts. I don’t mind, I like the over time, but man was I tired. I’m still tired. >sigh< I’m getting old. I remember when I could work 100 hour work week and still party it up every night. Not so much now. Needless to say, it’s been take out food for the past few weeks.

It’s comfort food night. What’s more comforting than a good ole casserole? Chicken casserole was one of the first things I remember seeing my stepdad make. This was before he and my mom were married. I guess I was in seventh or eighth grade. He had invited us to dinner at his townhouse he shared with his sister Liz. I can’t remember what all there was to eat that night. It was card night, and there was a lot of other food to be distracted by. Other than my grandpa, Herb was the first man I ever saw cook. I was so used to seeing my mom or my grandma’s cooking. Never the men. How times have changed.

For this recipe I take a little help from the store. Herb’s recipe, he actually stewed or roasted the chicken his self. This is also the way I usually make it, but not today. It’s too hot and humid for that long sweat inducing process. Today I used a store bought rotisserie chicken from the Kroger deli.  We are barely half way through June and it’s too hot to have the blinds open. His recipe also required you to cut the cheese, if you will, by hand. Again this is the way I usually do it, but the sliced Velveeta cheese was on sale, and you know I like a good sale.

Herb’s Chicken Casserole

3 boxes Stove Top Chicken Flavored Stuffing Mix

1 Family Sized can Cream of Mushroom Soup

15 slices Velveeta Cheese

1 whole store bought rotisserie chicken, shredded

Preheat oven to 350. Prepare the stuffing mix according to the package instructions; set aside for 5 minutes or until cool enough to handle. Once cooled, spoon half of the stuffing in to a 9″ x 13″ pan. Use your clean hands and light press it together to form a loose crust. Add the shredded chicken to the top of the stuffing, distribute evenly. Spread the cream of mushroom soup evenly over the chicken. Place 6 slices of cheese, 3 on each side of the pan, on top of the soup. Top the casserole with the remaining stuffing, and place remaining cheese of top. You will need to tear a few slices in half for the best cheesy coverage. Bake for 40-45 minutes, or until cheese is melted and hot all the way through.

unnamed (1)

Leave a Reply

